Stravaganze Imperiali

An exhibition-event in 36 evenings will transform the Grotte di Catullo into an open-air museum where archeology and contemporary art will merge in a magic of light and beauty.

FROM THURSDAY 2ND JUNE TO SATURDAY 30TH JULY 2022, GROTTE DI CATULLO

The marvelous archaeological site of the Grotte di Catullo is transformed when past and future are intertwined in a truly unique event exhibition.

After the success of the IN WONDER (IS) LAND exhibition on the Isola del Garda, MAI MUSEUM arrives in Sirmione with the exhibition-event Stravaganze Imperiali, an immersive multimedia art project by the artist and curator Vera Uberti with the collaboration of Direzione Regionale Musei della Lombardia, 24 ORE Cultura and Municipality of Sirmione.

Eight multimedia maxi-light installations, including a digital triptych by the artist David LaChapelle, will illuminate the Grotte di Catullo, which are open in an extraordinary way in the evening, with an extraordinary light.
In an ultra-sensory journey through the folds of time, the artistic installations will dialogue with the monumental energy of the site and will accompany the public in an exceptional sensory experience; a real open-air museum in which contemporary art, multimedia technology, archeology and landscape will merge in an extraordinary emotional synthesis.

To conclude the visit, a food experience conceived by chef Andrea Mainardi accompanied by a proposal by Spirito Cocktails will take the public back in time to the era of the glories of Imperial Rome. The magical atmosphere created by suspended trampolines, red lights and illuminated monumental arches will leave the feeling of having lived in a magical place, where, for one evening, dreams have become reality.

Our mission is to connect audiences to art in a whole new way, stimulating minds, emotions and imagination through multiple experiences. Thus Vera Uberti, Artist and Art Director of Stravaganze Imperiali.

Program:

20: 45⁣⁣⁣ – Opening of the gates with welcome drink
21: 00⁣⁣⁣ – Visit to the light multimedia installations of the artist Vera Uberti and to the guest installation by David LaChapelle, in the archaeological site of the Roman villa
22: 30⁣⁣⁣ – Aphrodisiac Food Experience with an exclusive dessert by chef Andrea Mainardi and an accompanying cocktail spirit
00:00 – Closing of the event

All the dates:

Thursday 02 June / Friday 03 June / Saturday 04 June / Thursday 09 June / Friday 10 June / Saturday 11 June / Thursday 16 June / Friday 17 June / Saturday 18 June / Monday 20 June / Tuesday 21 June / Wednesday 22 June / Thursday 23 June / Wednesday 29 June / Thursday 30 June / Friday 01 July / Saturday 02 July / Wednesday 06 July / Thursday 07 July / Friday 08 July / Saturday 09 July / Tuesday 12 July / Wednesday 13 July / Thursday 14 July / Friday 15 July / Saturday 16 July / Tuesday 19 July / Wednesday 20 July / Thursday 21 July / Friday 22 July / Saturday 23 July / Tuesday 26 July / Wednesday 27 July / Thursday 28 July / Friday 29 July / Saturday 30 July /

Entrance fee. In case of bad weather the evening will be rescheduled.
The use of shoes with heels is not recommended.
Complete information and tickets: www.maimuseum.it/stravaganze-imperiali

This site requires the use of certain categories of cookies for several reasons. To get more information on the categories of cookies used and limit their use, see the ookie policy.